About Us

Diabetology Clinical Trial Network

A Powerful Partnership To Transform The Future Of Diabetes Care

About Us

Our Diabetology Network is under Biotechnology Industry Research Assistance Council (BIRAC) a not-for-profit Section 8, Schedule B, Public Sector Enterprise, set up by NBM, Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Government of India as an Interface Agency to strengthen and empower the emerging Biotech enterprise to undertake strategic research and innovation, addressing nationally relevant product development needs.

BIRAC is an industry-academia interface and implements its mandate through a wide range of impact initiatives, be it providing access to risk capital through targeted funding, technology transfer, IP management and handholding schemes that help bring innovation excellence to the biotech firms and make them globally competitive.

Research Data

Each research institution in the collaboration manages the clinical research data to support and provide a base for new developments in future.

Global Volunteers

We invite volunteers from all around the globe to participate In the clinical research with the aim of developing a global-standard drug.

Certified Researchers

We have a team of trained doctors who have proven experience in clinical research and are subject experts in Diabetes Mellitus.


We have state-of-the-art infrastructure at each clinical research center spread across the country equipped with all the modern equipment required.

Road Map of CTN Diabetology

Aug 2019
Request for Proposal

The Request for proposal from BIRAC to establish Clinical Trial Network for hospital based trial in specialties of Diabetology, Ophthalmology, Rheumatology and Oncology was announced in August 2019

Site Selection

The site selection was done in different geographical locations across India to establish PAN INDIA NETWORK with pool of both Private & Government organisation and blend of experienced and in-experienced sites

Finalized 7 Sites

Received proposals from nine speciality hospitals in which 7 sites were finalized to formulate the CTN Diabetology

Received Grant

The CTN Diabetology Network has received grant of 11.26 crores, having its lead site at M S Ramaiah Medical College and Hospitals-which is ranked 30th amongst all the Medical Colleges in India by NIRF

36 Months Project

The project duration to be completed within stipulated period of 36 months from the date of acceptance of GLA by all the recipients

July 2020
Project Kickoff

The project kicked off in 6th Jul 2020 with timeline till 06th July 2023

Objectives Finalized

The objectives finalized for the CTN Diabetology are:

  • Capacity building across all the sites of the network
  • Multi-Centric registry of the Network
  • To make the sites ready for clinical trial conduct

Our Strengths

• Experienced Investigators & Qualified Manpower
• Well established Infrastructure in all the sites
• All the staffs in the network are trained in GCP, SOPs and applicable regulatory guidelines
• Achievement of Harmonized SOPs in the Network
• All the sites are registered under the CDSCO
• Most of the sites are registered under DHR
• The data collected at our network facilitates a baseline assessment of the burden and care of diabetes patients, which will provide critical evidence for planning future programs. Also, it enables population management of diabetes, outcomes management, and development of Clinician Decision Support System.

CTN Diabetology Sites

  1. M.S. Ramaiah Medical College and Hospitals, Bangalore (Lead Centre) – MSRMCH
  2. Victoria Hospital – Bangalore Medical College and Research, Bangalore – BMCRI
  3. North Eastern Indira Gandhi Regional Institute of Health & Medical Sciences, Meghalaya – NEIGRIHMS
  4. Institute of Post Graduate Medical Education and Research & SSKM Hospital, Kolkata – IPGMER
  5. Sri Guru Ram Das University of Health and Science, Amritsar – SGRDUHS
  6. Noorul Islam Institute of Medical Science and Research Foundation, Neyyattinkara, Kerala – NIMS Medicity
  7. SRM Institutes for Medical Science, Chennai – SIMS

Principal Investigators

Dr. Pramila Kalra
Prof. (Dr.) P. K. Bhattacharya
Dr. K.R Raveendra
Dr. Surjoy Ghosh
Dr. Pramila Kalra
Prof. (Dr.) P. K. Bhattacharya
Dr. Gurinder Mohan